A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020

by Natalie Haynes

£8.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020 at the Owl Bookshop. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.

Fiction

Paperback

Published by Picador

Published May 2020

Books > Book Awards

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

Winner announced 9th September

One of the Guardian’s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all .

. . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames.

Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story. ‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe

‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist



The Fortune Men – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Nadifa Mohamed | 9780241466940

The Fortune Men – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Nadifa Mohamed

£14.99

A Town Called Solace – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Mary Lawson | 9781784743925

A Town Called Solace – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Mary Lawson

£14.99

An Island – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Karen Jennings | 9781910688922

An Island – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Karen Jennings

£9.99

The Sweetness of Water – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Nathan Harris | 9781472274373

The Sweetness of Water – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Nathan Harris

£18.99

The Promise – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Damon Galgut | 9781784744069

The Promise – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Damon Galgut

£16.99

Second Place – Booker Prize Longlist 2021 by Rachel Cusk | 9780571366293

Second Place – Booker Prize Longlist 2021

Rachel Cusk

£14.99