A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020

by Natalie Haynes

£8.99


Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020 for collection at the Owl Bookshop. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this title is ready for collection.

Fiction

Paperback

Published by Picador

Published May 2020

Books > Book Awards

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

Winner announced 9th September

One of the Guardian’s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’

In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all .

. . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames.

Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story. ‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe

‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me – WINNER 2020 Orwell Prize by Kate Clanchy |

Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me – WINNER 2020 Orwell Prize

Kate Clanchy

£9.99

Diary of a Young Naturalist WINNER 2020 The Wainwright Prize by Dara McAnulty |

Diary of a Young Naturalist WINNER 2020 The Wainwright Prize

Dara McAnulty

£16.00

The Discomfort of Evening – Winner International Booker Prize 2020 by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld |

The Discomfort of Evening – Winner International Booker Prize 2020

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld

£8.99

Ducks, Newburyport –  Winner James Tait Black Prize 2020 by Lucy Ellmann |

Ducks, Newburyport – Winner James Tait Black Prize 2020

Lucy Ellmann

£13.99

Hamnet – WINNER Women’s Prize 2020 by Maggie O'Farrell |

Hamnet – WINNER Women’s Prize 2020

Maggie O'Farrell

£20.00

Girl, Woman, Other – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020 by Bernardine Evaristo |

Girl, Woman, Other – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020

Bernardine Evaristo

£8.99