A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020

by Natalie Haynes

£8.99

Reserve a copy

×

Reserve a copy

Reserve a copy of A Thousand Ships – Women’s Prize Shortlist 2020 at the Owl Bookshop. If you provide your email address below, we will contact you when this item is ready for collection. For delivery by post add the address to the order notes and we will be in touch to arrange payment.


    Fiction

    Paperback

    Published by Picador

    Published May 2020

    Books > Book Awards

    Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

    Winner announced 9th September

    One of the Guardian’s and TLS’s ‘Best Books of 2019’

    In A Thousand Ships, broadcaster and classicist Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War from an all-female perspective, for fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker. This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all .

    . . In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames.

    Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen. From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

    Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships Natalie Haynes puts the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story. ‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’ – Madeline Miller, author of Circe

    ‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist



    The Bread the Devil Knead – WOMEN’S PRIZE 2022 SHORTLIST by Lisa Allen-Agostini | 9781912408993

    The Bread the Devil Knead – WOMEN’S PRIZE 2022 SHORTLIST

    Lisa Allen-Agostini

    £8.99

    The Book of Form and Emptiness – WOMEN’S PRIZE 2022 SHORTLIST by Ruth Ozeki | 9781838855277

    The Book of Form and Emptiness – WOMEN’S PRIZE 2022 SHORTLIST

    Ruth Ozeki

    £9.99

    Monkey Boy – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Finalist by Francisco Goldman | 9781611854428

    Monkey Boy – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Finalist

    Francisco Goldman

    £9.99

    Palmares – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Finalist by Gayl Jones | 9780349015248

    Palmares – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Finalist

    Gayl Jones

    £8.99

    The Netanyahus – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Winner by Joshua Cohen | 9781913097608

    The Netanyahus – The Pulitzer Prize 2022 Winner

    Joshua Cohen

    £12.99

    Unsettled Ground – Costa Prize 2021 Winner by Claire Fuller | 9780241457467

    Unsettled Ground – Costa Prize 2021 Winner

    Claire Fuller

    £8.99